Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetSoftware · 1 decade ago

Rotoscope & Wacom?

I'm getting ready to do a major rotoscoping project.

I'm wondering if it would be worth it to get a tablet?

I'm looking at the wacom graphire4, as I don't have a lot of bucks to put out. Would this be a worthy purchase for what I'm using it for? I use photoshop, AE, and Ulead Video paint. Will it work with all of these programs?

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, since I have no experience in rotoscoping or know what "AE" is, I can only half-reply here...

For a person who grew up drawing on paper and would like to illustrate on a computer in a similar manner, a tablet (and Wacom is one of if not the best producers of graphic tablets) makes all the difference in the world. Using a stylus over a computer mouse makes illustration work easier, faster and fun.

Recent versions of Photoshop actually have elements which are designed exclusively for tablet users; for some settings, how hard you press a stylus (or the "pen-like" part of a graphic tablet) effects how much or little ink (paint/whatever) is applied in a stroke, how concentrated is the flow of a 'airbrush'...even (for the more pricier tablet models and again, at the proper setting) how the stylus is *tilted* can influence a stroke.

Assuming Ulead Video Paint (I've never used that application either) has less features than Photoshop, I'd assume working with it and a stylus would be less dramatic in difference than a mouse.

I still use a mouse most of the time I'm using a computer except when illustrating; then, my mouse gathers dust.