In the NFL, in a punt away situation...?
In the NFL, in a punt away situation, not a field goal attempt, the punter inadvertently punts the football through the uprights, is that no points, 3 points, nothing ? Rick from vegas
- Anonymous1 decade agoFavorite Answer
No, it would not be counted as a field goal. It would be the same as if the punter booted the ball in the stands, and thus the receiving team would take posession at their own 20. NOW: there is a thing called a drop kick, where the kicker can put it through the uprights for three points. This used to be a fairly common play in the old days, up until the early '60's or so.
- Kev CLv 41 decade ago
it is NOT a field goal. for it to be a field goal it must touch the ground. the rule is a punt is a kick that is kicked without the ball on the ground.
a field goal is considered a kick when the ball is on the ground or kicked immediatly after it touches the ground. this is why field goals are placed on the ground by someone and set to be kicked.
a drop kick where you drop the ball on the ground and while it is on the ground or just bounces, and it is kicked through the uprights it is a field goal.
it won't count if a punter drops the ball, it hits the ground and the punter picks it up and kicks it through the uprights because it was not kicked on or immediatly after it hits the ground.