what is the differnce between a vegan and a vegitarian?

trying to prove it to parents

14 Answers

Relevance
  • Emmy
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Vegetarianism has several levels.

    Lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat eggs and dairy products, like milk, cheese, etc.

    One can choose to be just a lacto-vegetarian, or ovo-vegetarian, but lacto-ovo is most common.

    Vegans will not consume, wear, or use any food or product that has been derived from animals in any way, including milk, eggs, honey, leather, wool, or even beeswax.

    It is entirely possible to have complete and balanced nutrition on a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet.

    Vegan diets have no food source of vitamin B12, and some amino acids, and require dietary supplements for complete nutrition.

    Hope that will be helpful to you!

  • 1 decade ago

    Being a vegetarian I do it for health and moral reasons as most vegetarians and vegans do.

    The difference is that vegans do not eat any animal products.

    I would say it is the most extreme of the two. Some feel that they are morally superior because they choose not to partake in the eating of any animal product.

    However it my opinion that we all depend on each other even animals. It's how we treat them that makes a big difference.

    Being a vegetarian it is possible to find animal products such as milk and butter that are cruelty free foods.

    What ever a persons food choice to be I tend to think that most people are not jerks who want animals to suffer. I think rather that most people are so busy with life that there is little time to dwell on what most people would consider the "Little Details of Life". I think with more education and awareness that more people will lean towards vegetarian and free range foods because we have evolved to be a more humane species.

  • 1 decade ago

    well tehre is a big difference between vehetarin nd vegan....Vegetrins dont eat meat, chicken,or they MIGHT eat fish but vegans dont et anything like eggs,meat,fish,cheese,drink milk and lots more...tehy dont eat or drink dairy. The mostly eat soy,salads,vegetables nd vegetarian substitutes. It is relly hrd for vegans to eat becuse as vegetarian i know vegns nd veges crave food...they like to eat most of the day.........i try not to but i cnt help it...so i try to walk the dog nd all to stay fit...i hope i have helped you

    luv shazz.

  • K
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    Vegeterian's don't eat meat. Vegan's don't eat or wear any animal by-products. That said, there are so many different ideas and definitions of both.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    a vegan is somone who doesn't eat any meat or eat any animal by-prouduct along with not using any animal by-proudcts. a vegetarian is someone who doesn't eat any meat but may still use/eat animal by-products (there are diffrent types of vegetrianism, google it)

    parents can be a bit stuburn somtimes, huh? lol

  • 1 decade ago

    vegetarians don't eat meat...

    vegans take it a step further and don't eat or drink anything having to do with an animal... do dairy, no eggs, no seafood...

    Alot won't wear anything made from animals... like leather shoes, or purses

  • 1 decade ago

    Vegans do not eat either dairy or seafood, because they don't believe in keeping animals as slaves. they are idiots, but well-meaning ones, i think. Most vegans won't wear leather shoes or belts, or that sort of thing.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    vegitarian eats cheese, milk, and eggs while vegans dont. but both dont eat meat.

  • 1 decade ago

    A vegan is when you don't consume anything that COMES from animals...eggs, milk, etc. A vegetarian is when you don't eat the ANIMALS (meat)..beef, pork, etc.

    Source(s): one of my friends is a vegetarian!
  • 1 decade ago

    Vegetarians:

    Don’t consume any type of meat (chicken, beef, fish), but they do eat dairy products (cheese, milk, yogurt) and eggs.

    Vegans:

    Don’t consume any type of meat, or any products that come from animals (milk, eggs, whey, honey, ect.).

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.