Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthMental Health · 1 decade ago

Blue Cross denied my ADHD treatment.?

I was seeking "EEG biofeedback (neurofeedback)” treatment for my ADHD and was denied. Has anyone been successful in getting insurance to pay?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm a nurse and BCBS denies almost everything that the doctor feels is what the patient needs. It upsets me so much. Just recently, I had a patient who had failed one of three approved treatments for her condition. BCBS denied the other 2 treatments- even though we submitted clinical evidence and need for the treatments... the doctor wrote letters, we submitted her labwork, etc. After spending all day on the phone and being transferred 8 different times, I finally spoke to someone and asked them "if you are denying these treatments that the doctor feels are appropriate- just what are we supposed to treat her with?" I told her that I thought it was very wrong of them to deny a medication based soley on the cost and not on medical necessity. She stammered a bit, asked for my phone number, said, I will call you back. She called back within an hour, asked me what medication we initially wanted to put her on... I told her. She called me back and told me it was approved... Just make sure that you have a persistent doctor and a very persistent nurse working in your favor and you will get the treatment that you need! Sorry this is long but I wanted to let everyone know just how insurance company's work sometimes... I think it is very sad.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago