Tammie asked in HealthDiet & Fitness · 1 decade ago

OK I am quitting smoking the first of the year! I know why wait but I am so no preaching...any ideas to help?

I dont not really want to patch it or anything, not that I won't if it helps, I am looking for tips and advice basically. I have in the last two years lost 67 lbs...I do not want to gain it back THAT is my biggest fear...some ideas please!

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Picking a date is good, gives you time to be sure. Also saying I am quitting is a good sign, not I am going to try. The 1st, say, "I'm a non-smoker" Then get all the support you can. The patch is good for physical symptoms. It's the mental part that is so hard. It is an addiction so very hard to stop. Take it seriously, as it will consume all of your thoughts for awhile. You can do it.

Source(s): I am a respiratory therapist.
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

My employer has recently gone smoke free on our entire campus. Several of the people I work with have tried in the past, and been unsuccessful, or unhappy with the results. One friend has used the patch, Wellbutrin, and other aids. Recently she has started a new medication named Chantix. It is prescription only, and costly. Another friend that is a heavy smoker, (both of this women have smoked 15-20years), she recently started, and is having to force herself to smoke the last few days. It starts with you smoking specific directions on the first few days of the medication. A start date is picked. From that date on, you do not smoke. You continue to take the medication for 8-12 weeks, depending on the MD prescription. I as an outside observer am amazed at the results. If you try other methods, and discover that they are ineffective, look into Chantix. It is working really well for some of my friends that have a long hx of heavy smoking. Good Luck!

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago