Were did the bass go?

I have been fishing the lake for 10 years. I have done very well. tell this year. Last spring I fish 4 times and did not get one bass! Did not see one bass. Talk to some other fishermen and thay told that thay have not had a bite. What is going on. Hope you can tell me Or do I need to go to other lakes I did grate at Silverwood at about the same time

Thank you

Russ from Running Springs

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

That's why it's called fishing, not catching. So, how bad do you want to hit me now, since we've all heard that. As to your question, who knows where the bass have gone. Did you catch any other fish at the lake? It's always possible that the lake experienced a horrible spawning period, or the water could have possibly been contaminated. I'm not familiar with your lake, so I can't really say.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Impossible to say......... could be anything including

- Outbreak of fish disease wiping out population

- illegal stocking of a superior predator

- illegal stocking of fish, leading to an outbreak of disease

- water contamination

- Population wiped out by over-fishing, if most the local anglers kill and take home for the table, rather than catch & release.

- illegal poaching / drag netting, potentially by illegal immigrants (got a problem with that over here in England, not that the government will do jacksh*t about it)

- Fish spooked by changeable weather conditions

- There was an abundance of natural food available for the fish, and everyone was using the wrong bait (e.g. corn / lures / powerbait, etc when the fish were more interested in bugs & worms).