Jin asked in Games & RecreationCard Games · 1 decade ago

In Magic the gathering TCG, how exactly do we play the haunt ability?

how exactly do we play the haunt ability?? first when the creature with haunt ability is dead, the player decides which creatures to haunt. then after the creature who is haunted dies, which card's ability comes into play again?? and do the haunt ability of a card goes on until the end of the game?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    The official rulings on Haunt(source:http://www.wizards.com/dci/downloads/GPTFAQ122205_...

    502.51. Haunt

    502.51a Haunt is a triggered ability that enables other triggered abilities to work from the removed-from-the-game zone. "Haunt" on a permanent means "When this permanent is put into a graveyard from play, remove it from the game. As long as this card remains removed from the game this way, it haunts target creature." "Haunt" on an instant or sorcery spell means "When this spell resolves, remove this card from the game. As long as this card remains removed from the game this way, it haunts target creature."

    502.51b Cards that are in the removed-from-the-game zone as the result of a haunt ability "haunt" the creature targeted by that ability. When the creature that's being haunted is put into a graveyard, an ability of each card in the removed-from-the-game zone that's haunting it will trigger.

    502.51c If a creature that's being haunted leaves the in-play zone, it stops being haunted.

    * If an instant or sorcery spell with haunt is countered, its haunt ability doesn't trigger.

    * Instants and sorceries with haunt have the same effect when they're played as when the haunted creature is put into a graveyard. Creatures with haunt have the same effect when they come into play as when the haunted creature is put into a graveyard.

    * You may haunt any creature in play, regardless of who controls it.

    * The same creature may be haunted by multiple cards.

    * The cards that are haunting a creature don't return from the removed-from-the-game zone when that creature leaves play.

    * If there are no legal targets for the haunt ability, the card with haunt stays in the graveyard rather than being removed from the game.

    * If a card with haunt is removed from the graveyard in response to its haunt ability triggering, the haunt ability will resolve. But since the card can't be removed from the game, it won't haunt the target creature.

    * The same applies for a token creature with haunt or a copy of an instant or sorcery spell with haunt. The haunt ability will trigger and target a creature in play, but the token or spell copy will have vanished from the graveyard by the time the ability resolves. It can't be removed from the game and won't haunt the targeted creature.

    * If a card that's haunting a creature leaves the removed-from-the-game zone due to a Wish (from the _Judgment_(TM) set), that card stops haunting that creature.

    * The source of an ability that triggers when a haunted creature is put into a graveyard is the card with haunt in the removed-from-the-game zone. The ability is controlled by the owner of that card.

    * If a creature with haunt controlled by Player A but owned by Player B is put into a graveyard, Player A controls the haunt triggered ability. That player chooses the target for the haunt ability and must remove the card from the game. However, when the haunted creature is put into a graveyard, Player B will control the triggered ability of the card in the removed-from-the-game zone and will make any choices it requires.

    -----

    Source(s): 3 years of Magic experience.
    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    try going to www.gamefaqs.com maby they can help tou out :)

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.