Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsMedicine · 1 decade ago

What is it in humans that cause such revulsion in seeing the inside of the human body?

Most people are sickend by blood or gore, and they think it "gross" to see the organs of the human body or excessive blood. Most would never think of observing a surgery or an autopsy. What is it in the human psyche that causes this reaction? I work in the medical field, and this stuff has never really bothered me. I don't particularly like gore for gore's sake, but I have been called upon from time-to-time to see it, and I always thought the human body was fascinating. Any thoughts or comments? Legitimate answers, only, please. Let's hear from doctors, psychologists, psychaitrists - not the Marilyn Manson "Goth" types out there. I would like this treated as a legitimate medical inquiry. Thanks.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hmm... good question. I'm training to be a doctor and like a lot of medical students had to grow accustom to the idea of dissecting cadevers and handling bodily fluids. With repeated exposure, this sort of work is no longer a problem for me, my brain is prepared and capable of coping with, possibly, even the goriest of scenes. If it had not been for medical school I would probably get through my entire life without seeing, say, a dead body or an amputated leg. The same goes with the majority of my class mates.

I doubt it has much to do with reminding us of our mortality. When I was squeamish, many years ago, the last thing I thought about was death whenever I saw a cut finger with blooding oozing from it. I just didn't like slimy things.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

One reason may be an instinctive fear response. Our earliest ancestors would see blood and guts only when someone was badly injured or killed so the sight was always associated with danger.