Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureLanguages · 1 decade ago

Can anyone offer me any good tips on how to teach myself foreign languages?

I studied 3 foreign languages in college, by after graduation, have found it very hard to maintain my knowledge and build on what I've learned (the languages were Swedish, Portuguese, and Spanish). Aside from reading news articles, listening to web radio broadcasts, and going through old textbooks, I'm at a loss on how to build on what I've already learned.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The best way to stay or get fluent in any language is to become acquaintances with someone who speaks it. I have been fluent in several languages but the only ones that stick are the ones I use everyday.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

Yes, Rheanna P basically has it. I've studied a few languages--around 10 I think, most of them not too seriously--but the only one that stuck--Chinese--came about because I associated with Chinese friends regularly (fortunately where I lived in NYC and LA there are big Chinese populations), and because I spent some time in Taiwan--where I heard and had to use Chinese regularly.

Another tip: when learning vocabulary don't equate the word you're learning with the equavalent English word; rather try to picture the thing, or action, in your mind. For example, if you're learning the word bicycle, picture a bicycle at the same time. For something like "run," "hit," "take" picture yourself doing those things. It gets a little harder for things like ideas, concepts, etc., like "learn" or "love." You'll have to use your imagination then. But exercising your mind should contribute to your learning.

• 1 decade ago