Swim Practice?

What is the average amount you should practice for in competitive swimming, a week? and How long should you practice a day (times and in Hours or Mins)? is there such thing as swimming too much? I swim as much as i can and im just wondering if there is anything else i should do to improve my skills. If you have any secrects Let them out!

Thanks!

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I have been swimming now for about four years now and have been to the Junior Olympics a couple of times. I practice Monday through Saturday. Monday - Friday I practice from 5:00 - 7:30pm. In addition, I swim 8:00am - 12:00pm on Saturday. There is really no such thing as swimming TOO much. I swim ALL the time. Any place any time. I also go to the YMCA and practice myself once and a while. Just work on rotation, kicking, and breakouts. In conclusion, I just want to let you know you should keep the good work up. Hope this worked for you.

• I am also a competive swimmer and the amount you practice is so important. I would practice early I mean EARLY in the morning, like 5- 5:30. This will give you a really good long warm up. Basically in the morning swim your slower distance workouts. In the morning I'd swim 500 drills (as my coach calls them) this is basically swiming freestyle drills, a different one each 100(do between 5 and 8 500's whatever you like). Start with a 600 warm up, then your main set, then a 200 warm down. Then get ready and go about your day as normal the around 2 or 3 get in for a good 2 hour workout that includes 100 and 200 interval workouts. this should get your heart racing and your body hurting. Do those freestyle. But don't limit your workout to just one stroke also try some 200 IM sets with about 10 or 15 seconds rest. I hope this helps you. My coach always told us that swimmers need to get the most yards in as possible and thats why we swim mornings.

Source(s): High school swim season.
  • 1 decade ago