Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceWords & Wordplay · 1 decade ago

why is it now considered acceptable to use words or characters sich as : ur for Your, fave for favorite?

It seems like most of the people who do this are female and younger. Are they too lazy to type out a complete word or sentence or do they not know how to use the spell checker if necessary??

14 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Most of them are use to text messaging their friends and those abbreviation are pretty universally known among themselves and their friends - and it can help keep the old people out of there conversations. One of the things I have learned since I am a teacher of high school students.

Good Luck!!!

Source(s): from job experience
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

It is cool and trendy within a limited audience. With the increase in violence, being accepted is important more than ever, and nobody really wants to feel ostracized. Teens are some of the most judgemental people there are, and being a teen, you must learn how to negotiate your way through all of that.

It is a form of culture and a way of distinguishing yourself from people outside your culture. Like why do White women and Black women were their hair so differently, even when technically, either could wear the same styles (with adjustments, like getting a perm or relaxer first)? It is because of cultural differences (moreso than the physical ones which can be overcome).

Of course, cell phones are so hard to type on, so it pays to use abbreviated forms of words.

There are also privacy issues. If a group has agreed upon their own dialect, it makes it harder for outsiders to snoop on the conversation or interfere.

• 1 decade ago