promotion image of download ymail app

are the 'seven deadly sins' mentioned in the bible?

if so, where?

2 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    No, they are not directly mentioned anywhere in the Bible, and scholars had to pull on other sources to construct them.

    They were listed by Pope Gregory the Great in the 6th Century AD and also by Dante Alighieri. They are luxuria (extravagance, later lust), gula (gluttony), avaritia (avarice/greed), acedia (sloth), ira (wrath), invidia (envy), and superbia (pride/hubris).

    Each deadly sin is opposed by one of the corresponding Seven Holy Virtues: Chastity (purity of soul), Temperance (self-restraint), Charity (giving), Diligence (zeal/integrity), Forgiveness (composure), Kindness (admiration), and Humility (humbleness).

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    That's a Catholic thing.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.