promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Kitty
Lv 6
Kitty asked in Food & DrinkVegetarian & Vegan · 1 decade ago

The different degrees of being vegetarian ?

Are there different degrees ?

When I cooked (once) for my sister-in-law, I couldn't use milk in my mashed potatoes. But butter was ok. Good gawd !! help me understand why butter is different from milk when it comes from the animal?

Also if I make gravy or a vegetable soup using chicken or beef boullion, isn't that still considered meaty since the boullion came from some part of the animal through processing but is not actually a chunk of it?

We have had numerous vegetarian exchange students as well and they seem to eat what ever I put in front of them as long as they don't see a chunk of meat. Are they less of a vegetarian than those who don't do milk? What about eggs... it is a protein that comes from an animal... how can any vegetarians eat breads and cakes and such with eggs in them?

I am just confused with all the different ways I see vegetarians. Seems to be double standards and I want YOU to give it to me straight!!!

Thanks : )

Update:

Well that is one odd comment "cowboybil" Not sure what any of it has to do with FOOD but to each their own.

Update 2:

Well that is one odd comment "cowboybil" Not sure what any of it has to do with FOOD but to each their own.

Update 3:

Well that is one odd comment "cowboybil" Not sure what any of it has to do with FOOD but to each their own.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    There is different types of Vegetarians and there are also Vegans. I think this will explain your questions.

    Here are the definitions of a Vegan and the various Vegetarians:

    Vegetarian

    A Vegetarian is a person who does not eat meat, poultry or fish/seafood

    Lacto Vegetarian

    A Lacto Vegetarian is a person who does not eat eggs, meat, poultry or fish/seafood of any kind, but does consume dairy (lacto) products.

    Ovo Vegetarian

    An Ovo Vegetarian is a person who does not eat dairy products, meat, poultry or fish/seafood of any kind, but does consume eggs (ovo).

    A Lacto-Ovo vegetarian

    A Lacto-Ovo vegetarian is a person who does not eat meat, poultry or fish/seafood of any kind, but does consume eggs (ovo) and dairy (lacto) products.

    Vegan

    A Vegan is a person who does not eat meat, poultry, fish/seafood, eggs, or dairy products of any kind. Also refrains from milk, honey, leather, silk, wool, down, pearls, or any other animal product.

    Veg*n

    An inclusive shorthand for 'Vegan' and/or 'Vegetarian'.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Your sister in law may lean vegetarian for a variety of reasons - not the least of which could be food allergies. I know of people who are allergic to milk, but can handle a small amount of butter without a reaction.

    Generally, a vegan eats no animal products - including butter, milk, eggs or, you are correct, boullion. Some people call themselves vegetarians but do eat dairy products, and others will eat eggs.

    When I travel I often list Vegan on my flight meal preferences because I am completely dairy allergic, eat no beef or pork. While I am not a true Vegan, it makes it easier for me.

    Many breads and cakes are made vegan - with no eggs or dairy in them. They are a little harder to find and often homemade is best. You can use egg and dairy substitutes in baking quite easily these days.

    So, I suggest you communicate with your sister in law to determine her dietary needs and not judge her too harshly. There may appear to be some double standard on the milk/butter question - but there may be an underlying reason that you don't know.

    I'll sooner "cheat" and eat something made with butter because it's usually a small amount and is the least likely to trigger my food allergy migraines - than to "cheat" and have cheese, even in small amounts, which never fails to set off a migraine and congestion.

    Hope this helps alleviate possible tension in the family.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    There are five official stages:

    1) vegetarian - strange diet but still able to take a joke

    2) same but less humorous and very thin

    3) same but only laughs at their own jokes and republicans

    4) same but thinks people who eat meat are dumber than they are and don't mind telling them.

    5) vegan - complete wacko/cult member with no sense of humor and feels obligated to censor everyone that disagrees with him/her/it, thinks that humans are aliens and do not belong on planet earth, think cockroaches have more rights than humans, walk in lockstep with their appointed god, PETA, and will willingly drink the posion Kool-aid upon command (provided it isn't made with any animal biproducts).

    Source(s): Common sense
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    * Pesco/pollo vegetarianism (semi-vegetarianism, poultratarianism) — will only eat certain meats depending on the particular diet (pesco-fish, pollo-fowl).

    * Flexitarianism — prefer to eat vegetarian food, but make exceptions

    * Freeganism — avoid purchasing food, or in any way supporting a capitalist economy.

    ((Wikipedia))

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    vegan- no animal products

    vegetarian- no meat

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • **B**
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

    vegan is no milk and butter and meat and yogurt or any animal fats

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    vegan,no milk,eggs,or meat(no animal products)

    lacto vegetarian(no meat or eggs,but milk is fine)

    ovo vegetarian(no meat,no milk,eggs are okay)

    lacto ovo vegetarian(no meat,eggs and milk are fine)

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.