Are the pots split here or does the kicker count?

Sometimes, there are 2 people holding Jacks for example, and the remaining 2 are on the table... Now there are 2 people with three of a kind... Does the kicker count at that point or is the pot split?!?!?

And for a full house... If there are 2 pairs on the table... J - J - 3 - 2 - 2. If there are 2 people on the pot, and both have J's... But one has an Ace while the other has a 10... Does the kicker count?

This soed not happen often, but it does happen.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    For the first question, the best 5 card hand is played, including the next two cards, so the kicker does play.

    The pot is split, both players have a full house, Jacks over Twos. The best 5 card hand is played.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    The rule is simple and clear: "Play your best 5 cards"

    For a full house, the full house uses all 5 cards, so there's no room for a kicker. 7-7-7-6-6-(A) splits with 7-7-7-6-6-(K)

    For two pairs and 4 of a kind, there's room for one kicker, 7-7-6-6-4 beats 7-7-6-6-3., and 3-3-3-3-6 beats 3-3-3-3-5

    For trips, there's room for two kickers, 8-8-8-6-4 beats 8-8-8-6-3

    For one pair, there's room for three kickers, 9-9-7-6-4 beats 9-9-7-6-3

  • 1 decade ago

    No the kicker does not count. Split pot

  • 1 decade ago

    you only count the best 5 cards. if that means both people have the same hand, then they split it. so in your second example, both people have the same full house and split the pot.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    for first one the kicker counts, second it is split

  • 7 years ago

    What about flushes?

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.