promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
? asked in Computers & InternetHardwareMonitors · 1 decade ago

Computer Monitor?

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting on here SO forgive me if its been asked before =(

I have a question... I have a CRT monitor on my computer and when I usually get up I turn it off everytime I get up and Im away from my computer. even if its for like 10 min. And my friends make fun of me becuase they tell me that its wearing my monitor out. Well I dont want to run my parents light bill up so I try to not leave it on.... I dont use a screensaver well, I do but it just goes black at 8 min then goes to where the light turns orange at 10 min mark

Its to the point now , where when i turn off my monitor it comes right back on lol and I have to repeat hitting the off button and it coming back on 4 times before it finally stays off.

So , basically I am just wondering........whats the best solution if I am not gonna be around for just 10 min or less?

Thanks,

Christopher

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi Christopher;

You are right about your CTR monitor running the electric bills up.

CTR's pull more power than the LCDs will AND they get screen burn when left on.

You can change your monitor settings by using to a more user friendly setting by doing the following;

Right click anywhere on your desktop

Select properties

Click on the Screensaver tab

Click on the power settings.

From there you can adjust the way your monitor shuts off when you are away or goes into an idle mode when inactive for a set period of time.

As you are trying to keep the power bills down, allowing your monitor to go to screen saver mode will not accomplish this.