Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetHardwareScanners · 1 decade ago

What is a good level of "dpi" to look for when shopping for a scanner?

What is a good level of "dpi" to look for when shopping for a scanner?

I'm an artist who has been used to drawing on paper, with pencil, with ink, with markers, and with other tools for my media. I've been an artist for almost 30 years, but haven't drawn much in the past 4-5 years or so. I am thinking of getting a scanner so that I can draw pictures with pencil, then scan them to edit and color them in photoshop type programs. I want an inexpensive scanner, and don't mind shopping Wal-Mart for one that runs about $60-70+. However, I want a scanner that can scan graphite and color marker very accurately. What is a good "dpi" to shop for in a scanner for such purposes? Any help's appreciated. Thanks. :)

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

If you're using your scans for web artwork, just remember that most sites are just fine with 72dpi. More than that has a tendency to "moire", just as in print.

If, however, you want to print your finished artwork out, you'll want at least 300dpi and a printer that can also print out at 300dpi. Not a problem, as most color printers offer at least 300dpi.

Best idea is to "match" the dpi of your printer and scanner so that they have the same max dpi output.

• 1 decade ago

The higher the better. DPI = Dots Per Inch

However 300 DPI is usually sufficient to work with under normal circumstances. The higher DPI you make a file the larger it is and that makes it harder for your computer to handle. But look for the highest DPI rating when buying a scanner. You want to have the capability to scan lets say a slide - you need a lot of DPI for that, since a slide is tiny. But its better to have a higher DPI capability and not need it then needing a higher DPI and not having it.