new job: SALES ENGINEER Im a rookie........got any suggestions, good websites, books, material???

I have accepted a new position as a sales engineer...its basically a technical sales role thats all. But, Im a lil nervous about giving presentations to VPs and big management guys at other companies. Is there any resources out there that you really suggest? And please to turn me to monster.com I have no idea what Im getting into please help me out here. Thank you so much.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

1. Know your products(& services) well.

2. In Industrial selling multiple level relationship is essential. the user of your products would require technical inputs, and the person with money, authority and need would require a business justification such as ROI...so do your home work to convince both.

3. Tech selling typically is a long cycle sales, so ensure that you have mapped your competition well, and monitor their progress in each account you handle.

4. For any sales, its a lonely process. Motivate yourself to meet every new day and every new challenge.

5. Finally, remember you are in a great profession....there is no 9 to 5 routine..every day is new and every day you have new challenges! Enjoy the ride!!!

• Susan
    Lv 4
    4 years ago