Good Moon Filter for Meade DS-2130AT goto telescope 5"?

I purchased a telescope (yeah, finally!) :-) and it didn't come with a moon filter.

Can anyone tell me what I should look for...

Are they all compatible?

Update:

Thanks, I saw a nice moon filter on that site. Do I assume that it fits my size telescope?

Update 2:

That's great news then, I don't want to have to get one if it's not needed.

I'm brand new to this and thought you had to have one to protect your eyes, but I guess that's just the solar filter....

but I don't see any point in looking at the sun anyway, I mean, all it is a ball of fire, right? Is there anything to see?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

My fav place is telescopes.com

http://www.telescopes.com/series/meade-series-4000...

I looked on the meade site. I think it does fit.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Moon filters are normally only used with larger telescopes to dim the image of the Moon; it doesn't make the image clearer. With a 5 inch scope you shouldn't really need one. I have 10" and 12.5" scopes and I haven't bothered getting a moon filter, although I tend to choose higher magnification eyepieces when I view the moon. (The image appears dimmer as you increase magnification.)

Before you get a moon filter, answer these two questions: Do you find the moon uncomfortably bright to look at in your telescope? Have you tried using higher magnification? If you've answered no to either of these questions, don't bother wasting your money.