Fisherman's Wharf in March? (other: area tips, Muni?)?

I'm thinking of visiting San Francisco mid-march. Will Fisherman's Wharf have any activity (the performers, venders), or will it be dead? I'm a poor college student so I need to know that I'll have fun on this vacation!

Any other tips about the area and MUST SEEs would be greatly appreciated. Ohh...and if you know about the Muni/Public Transportation system, please help! Is it possible to navigate San Francisco easily without a car?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Mid-March is ok to visit San Francisco, but yes, you might run into some rain. Fisherman's Wharf is always fun no matter what time of year - you've got Alcatraz, the aquarium, shops, Boudin Sourdough, and when my parents were here, I took them in an old-fashioned car tour called Mr. Toad's Tours - that was fun! And I think the tulips should be in full bloom at that time - Fisherman's Wharf usually puts out a nice big display about that time of year.

Other must-sees that I recommend are: Chinatown, the Ferry Building (take the streetcar from Fisherman's Wharf to here), various farmers' markets (one at the Ferry Building and there is one on Thursdays at the Crocker Galleria in the financial district). I love the shops and restaurants along Fillmore Street and Polk Street, and definitely take the cable car on California or Powell Streets. Enjoy!

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago