pc decktop help plz?

hi i have a old compaq evo desktop.. i want to add memory. i have only 256mb i want to add about 2gb i need to know if i can do this i have 3 slots for the memory chips. one is being used by the 256mb, so i have 2 slots open. i have a smsc intel mother board. how do i know how much memory i can add? i dont have the manual and the intel site will not tell me and the support people are closed ontill monday (need to know the info right now). one more question i have 3 slots so i can hold 3gb? if i had 2 then 2gb?if i had 4 slots then 4gb? is that how it works? thanks you for your time.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

hey buddy ,

RAMS come in various sizes

256mb 512mb 1 GB 2 GB

so its upto you what size you use :)

first of all...your pc is quite old..seems liek its pentium 3 (i can sense it :P:P) , to begin with , you will need a SDR ram stick , and geting 4 GB is almost impossible for that or even 2 GB cuz its not made these days , the max you can find in one stick might be 512 or so.., even if you find one , it wont be of a GREAT help , remember if you want it for gaming or other processing ,your PROCESSOR NEEDS TO BE FAST , having excessive ram after a certain amount ( on tomshardwareguide.com it says 1 GB) is useless!

IF INCASE you have a Pentium 4 , just take your pc to a private computer shop , and the pc whiz over there will inspect it , rather than you wasting time on it , OR you can download everest home edition (free software) and then go to motehrboard---->spd it will tell you what PC bus having .bla bla , and take the information , that will give you enough info on waht ram u need to buy

hope this helps XD

Source(s): worked at a computer shop :) (my advsie get a new PC assmebled will be cheaper and it will work for another 3 years or so :)
  • ?
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

Go to the Intel web site, look up your mobo's specs.