Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsMartial Arts · 1 decade ago

Should I Quit Or Stay?

Okay I am currently studying Shaolin Kung Fu. I think my studio is okay, but feel uncomfortable with some of their traditions such as kneeling -with both knees on the ground- and having them but a belt on you. I dont think of it a sexual, just demeaning to kneel like that. I have like 7 other schools near me, and my friends go to all different schools. Some are in mine, but idk if no friends are at a new school,ill make new more. So, Should I Quit Or Stay?

19 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Your feelings are quite natural for someone of your age and generation. However, perhaps you should explore more why you feel demeaned rather than honored to kneel. Any traditional martial art will demand the absolute respect due to the instructor, although it may be expressed in various ways. I've been training in the martial arts for over 20 years, and under my teacher for more than half of that. To this day, I pay full courtesy to every instructor above me, and would kneel before my Teacher in a heartbeat to show my dedication to his teachings, my loyalty to him and the system, my appreciation of what he has done for me, and my knowledge that I am still but a speck of dust in the grand scheme of things. As a system with such a lineage as ours, one of the ultimate goals of training, aside from the fighting ability you will develop, is the destruction of the ego in deference to recognition of the higher self. I hope you find your answer, for it lies within yourself... If you ever feel uncomfortable with anything, feel free to shoot me an email (sifu@NotKarate.com ) and we can discuss the meanings behind what we do and why we do it. Sometimes a little knowledge can go a long way!

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago