A question for you profesionals out there...?

Do you all take all your pictures in manual mode or do you just use portrait and landscape and indoors modes etc that the camera came with?

I don't want to take pics in the wrong mode, ya know?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Use the presets then and practice with manual another day.

• 1 decade ago

I'm still a novice, but in my photography class the teach told us that the specific modes are just settings that can be obtained by using the manual mode. For instance, a fireworks mode is set for a long exposure to capture the streaming light of exploding fireworks. Many cameras actually show the exposure, f-stop, etc. of the special mode you have selected. The auto mode on your camera attempts to guess what you are shooting (portrait, nightime scene, underwater) and adapt to the conditions accordingly. After some use of your camera, you may find that your portrait mode uses that flash so that the subject is illuminated, but the background is dark and underexposed. To counter this you can note the settings and then move into manual mode, increase the exposure to capture more light from the background, and turn the flash off so the subject is not overexposed. With experience and experimentation, manual settings might achieved the desired result better than the preset ones. You may find that the many pre-set modes of your camera are great for their purpose.

• 1 decade ago

I always use manual mode when shooting professionally/creatively. Over the years, I have learned what I want out of a shot, and in-camera metering doesn't always agree with me. However, if I am just taking snapshots, I will sometimes use the preset modes. Manual exposure allows much more creative freedom. Automatic modes are good for grabbing quick shots.