Subba Rau V asked in SportsCricket · 1 decade ago

Under what rule, a batsman can be declared run out, if the stumps have fallen due first strike of the ball?

During the B&H game in Aus. Javeed of pakistan was run out by Wicketkeeper Viswanath on similar fashion. It is nothing bu the presence of mind and thorough knowledge of the rules & regulations.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

    Rule 143 (b) (e).

    • Maaris5 years agoReport

      Good observation.But not B&H it is in India. India vs Pakistan one-day series mid of eighties may be 3 rd or 4 th one.sada replaced series wicketkeper for that match.Like Sada, vijay yadav suggested sachin for a last over against south Africa in hero cup final.

  • 1 decade ago

    Your facts are wrong. Sadanand Vishwanath ran out Ramiz Raja. It wasn't the Benson and Hedges series, but the below match:

    1986-1987 India v Pakistan - 4th Match

    Nehru Stadium (Poona) (22/03/1987)

    http://www.howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Matches/...

    The rule is:

    WICKET IS DOWN (Law 28)

    The wicket is not “down” merely because a bail has been disturbed but is “down” if a bail in falling from the wicket lodges between the stumps. This is to say the bail does not have to fall to the ground. Of course the possibility of the bail lodging between the stumps is very unlikely but it could happen.

    “Disturbed” means the bail has come out of its groove and is resting on the top of the stumps. The wicket is not down in this situation.

    If one bail is off it is sufficient to dislodge the other bail to effect a run out or stumping.

    If both bails are off the fieldsman may:

    replace one of them and remove it again with the ball or ball in hand,

    pull a stump from the ground with the ball in the hand or hands used,

    throw the ball and knock a stump completely out of the ground.

    If all stumps are out of the ground the fieldsman must replace one of them and then, with the ball in hand or hands used, remove it again or knock it out with a throw.

  • 1 decade ago

    Law 28: The wicket is down. Several methods of being out occur when the wicket is put down. This means that the wicket is hit by the ball, or the batsman, or the hand in which a fielder is holding the ball, and at least one bail is removed.

    The Law 28 is reproduced below:

    Law 28 (The wicket is down)

    --------------------------------------

    1. Wicket put down

    (a) The wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps, or a stump is struck out of the ground by

    (i) the ball.

    (ii) the striker's bat, whether he is holding it or has let go of it.

    (iii) the striker's person or by any part of his clothing or equipment becoming detached from his person.

    (iv) a fielder, with his hand or arm, providing that the ball is held in the hand or hands so used, or in the hand of the arm so used.

    The wicket is also put down if a fielder pulls a stump out of the ground in the same manner.

    (b) The disturbance of a bail, whether temporary or not, shall not constitute its complete removal from the top of the stumps, but if a bail in falling lodges between two of the stumps this shall be regarded as complete removal.

    2. One bail off

    If one bail is off, it shall be sufficient for the purpose of putting the wicket down to remove the remaining bail, or to strike or pull any of the three stumps out of the ground, in any of the ways stated in 1 above.

    3. Remaking the wicket

    If the wicket is broken or put down while the ball is in play, the umpire shall not remake the wicket until the ball is dead. See Law 23 (Dead ball). Any fielder, however, may

    (i) replace a bail or bails on top of the stumps.

    (ii) put back one or more stumps into the ground where the wicket originally stood.

    4. Dispensing with bails

    If the umpires have agreed to dispense with bails, in accordance with Law 8.5 (Dispensing with bails), the decision as to whether the wicket has been put down is one for the umpire concerned to decide.

    (a) After a decision to play without bails, the wicket has been put down if the umpire concerned is satisfied that the wicket has been struck by the ball, by the striker's bat, person, or items of his clothing or equipment separated from his person as described in 1(a)(ii) or 1(a)(iii) above, or by a fielder with the hand holding the ball or with the arm of the hand holding the ball.

    (b) If the wicket has already been broken or put down, (a) above shall apply to any stump or stumps still in the ground. Any fielder may replace a stump or stumps, in accordance with 3 above, in order to have an opportunity of putting the wicket down.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    one above me is correct

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.