when you are playing scrabble and you add a word on to your apponits piece do you count yours and your apponit

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Yes, but you don't get to count the double or triple they had before.

  • 1 decade ago

    Yes, I agree with the first answerer and want to add an example:

    Say your opponent has the word MONKEY on the board. You have a letter tile marked S and want to add it to his word MONKEY to make MONKEYS, you will earn all the points from the M, O, N, K, E, Y, and S plus any bonus in any that YOUR S was placed on. Just not any bonuses that the original M O N K E Y letters were on.

    Scoring Rule #2

    The score for each turn is the sum of the letter values in each word(s) formed or modified on that turn, plus the additional points obtained from placing letters on Premium Squares.

  • 1 decade ago

    Well, if you add a few letters to the end of your opponents piece then yes, you count all of the words that you have changed and or created. If you add a word onto your opponents piece you only count your own word plus the letter you connected your word to. If that letter, or letters, is on a special place on the board like double word or triple letter score or something, you do not count that towards your word. For more scrabble rules go to:

    http://www.hasbro.com/scrabble/pl/page.faq_rules/d...

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    You want to add up your score for each letter/tile. However, if your opponent used a space with double or triple word score and/or double or triple letter score, the doubled or tripled score does not apply. Only the single amount for each tile played in the word or words that you CREATED by adding tiles to the board.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    Yes you get the score for opponents tiles as well. For complete Scrabble rules check out http://www.scrabulous.com/scrabble.php

  • 1 decade ago

    Yes. You add the points of the original word plus your addition.

  • 1 decade ago

    yes, you count the whole word without the bonus double, triple word or letter. google scrabble and you'll find out more rules.

    thanks

  • 1 decade ago

    Hi,

    Yes you do. But you can't count the bonuses under their tiles

    Have fun playing.

  • 1 decade ago

    yes you get the new word, but none of the other

    bonus tiles underneath.

    have fun

  • 1 decade ago

    no. you count the word that you made by adding your letters.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.