Lee vs. Macon county, Alabama court case info and verdict?

It has to do with the department of education and the mistreatment of minorities...I think. Please, fill in the blanks.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

i studied that in a honors hist class in high school but it has been well over 10 years.

here is an exerpt from a website i found:

Brown v. Topeka Board of Education, 1954 legally ended segregation of public schools in the United States of America. That was the official stance, but for the majority of schools in the South, desegregation happened only on paper; and Macon County Alabama was no exception. Nearly ten years after the Brown v. Topeka Board of Education, schools in Tuskegee continued segregated practices, as did the entire Macon County school system.

Lee v. Macon County Board of Education attempted to force the desegregation of the public schools in Macon County.[1] Anthony T. Lee filed a complaint with the federal court against Macon County Board of Education in 1963. Because of the desegregation issues, the United States was added to the complaint on July 16,1963, as Plaintiff?Intervener and amicus curiae.   After six months of deliberations, Federal Justice Frank Johnson, on August 13,1963 ordered Macon County schools to desegregate.[2] The court?s ruling met with massive resistance in the white community. Governor George Wallace responded to Justice Johnson?s ruling with a news conference during which he made the following statement: ?In the name of the greatest people that have ever walked the earth, I draw a line in the dust and toss the gauntlet before the feet of tyranny, and I say Segregation now! Segregation tomorrow! and Segregation forever!?