Help with history?

Just 3 small questions:

1. Name 2 U.S. territories.

2. What's the difference between a territory && a state?

3. Is a resident of a U.S. territory a U.S. citizen?

I think I already know #3, but not sure. Any help is appreciated!

2 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    1. 2 U.S. territories are Puerto Rico & U.S. Virgin Island. There is also Guam, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, Midway Islands, Wake Island, Johnston Atoll, Baker Island, Howard Island, Jarvis Island, Kingman Reef, Navassa Island, Palmyra Atoll.

    2. A territory is an area of land under the jurisdiction of a governmental authority. Territory can, though, include any geographical area under the jurisdiction of a sovereign and does not have a political division status. A State is an independent territory with a government, a population and sovereignty over these. The entire landmass of the Earth (excluding Antarctica), along with coastal seas is considered to be divided among such countries. There are currently 193 States (countries) recognised by the United Nations — its 192 members and the Vatican City.

    3. According to the Immigration Law Center in Alabama, you are a U.S. citizen if you are a resident of the U.S. territory, but only if you were born in that state or territory.

    Hope this helps!

  • Chit P
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

    1. Guam and Puerto Rico

    2. A territory is not given representation in congress or the right to vote. However, they are also not taxed.

    3. Yes, a resident of a US territory is a citizen of the united states.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.