What is it about this Politics & Government category?

I'm a newbie to this Yahoo Q&A business, but the general quality of the language, the level of reasoned discourse and debate seem to me to be so... diminished, even from other category groups.

Might it be the nature of the topic perhaps (politics and government) or just the group that uses it? Might it even be a function of the 'points' system used, where jotting something down for a couple of points is more important than a carefully crafted presentation?

To be honest, I've never seen so much badly spelled, unreasoned, dogmatic gainsaying in my life! It's quite appalling actually.

Update:

One day later, and what do I find? Precisely the sort of unreasoned, confrontational and insulting language I made a point of in my question!

By the way... the best way to get a point across is by respecting your audience enough to make it cogently. A sense of humour helps a lot, as some have chosen to do. Insults get you nowhere. They merely show you for who and what you are. You should be ashamed.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Mutt
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

They are called "Trolls". Their whole purpose in posting here is not to seek information, but to stir up hate and anger between the different groups. And it's not just liberals attacking conservatives, or just conservatives attacking liberals. People from both sides do it. Most of the time I skip those questions, but there are a few times I take the bait and answer one of these. It just depends on my mood.

Another way to look at these is to consider the source. The bad spelling and grammar really shows their maturity level.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • ?
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago