Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceOther - Education · 1 decade ago

ecuador(story behind flag) and some interesting facts?

2 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

    The flag of Ecuador was adopted on September 26, 1860.

    Technically, the law of 5 December 1900 (Registro Oficial No.1272) states that Ecuador's civil flag and civil ensign are different from the state flag and stage ensign: the difference is that the state flags feature Ecuador's coat of arms and the civil flags do not. However, in practice the state flag is often used as a civil flag.

    The war ensign has 2:3 proportions but is otherwise the same as the state ensign. Historical synthesis of the flag - We can identify eight periods in the history of Ecuador's flag: 1) The 1810 leaders raised a red flag with white mast against the Spanish authorities. It fell in bloody Samano's hands in 1812. 2) A flag with five horizontal stripes BWBWB and three stars in the middle stripe to symbolize Guayaquil, Portoviejo and Machala, was raised by the patriots in the 9th October 1820 Liberation. (see: 1820 Flag). 3) The previous flag changed by decree the 2nd June 1822: "The flag of the free province of Guayaquil shall be white and its first quarter blue with a centered star [no colour indicated for the star]". (see: 1822 Flag). 4) The Colombian [horizontal] tricolour, which presided the heroic deed of Pichincha and later on flied over the Tejar tower, and the 25th May was officially hoisted on the Panecillo fort, served as well as a sign of annexation of Guayaquil to Colombia and became definitive. (see: Great Colombia). 5) When Ecuador comes apart from Greater Colombia in 1830 it keeps the previous flag. During the 1845 Marcista [March?] Revolution the blue/white flag returns, now as a vertical tricolour WBW, the blue stripe with stars. (see: March 1845 Flag). 6) The Cuenca Convention ratified by decree the 6th November 1845 the blue colour of Ecuador's skies , changing the three stars into seven, "as symbols of the seven provinces which make up the Republic". (see: 6 November 1845 Flag). 7) The Marcist flag lasted from 1845 to 1860. After Garcia Moreno's victory over the forces of Castilla [a person, not Castile] and Franco and the shameful Treaty of Mapasingue, he orders that "The bicolour [Really - WBW tricolour] has been shamed out of treason and bears a washproof stain. Let the old Equatorian flag, sealed with heroes' blood, be forever consecrated as the people's ensign and the pride of our national glories". 8) The 1861 Convention confirmed this decree and it became definitive in 1900, by decree of the Legislative. It is made up of three colours Yellow Blue and Red in horizontal stripes, with the yellow having double the width. Santiago Dotor, 21 October 1998

    Ecuador, officially the Republic of Ecuador (Spanish: República del Ecuador, short form Ecuador, IPA [re'puβlika ðel ekwa'ðoɾ]) is a representative democratic republic in South America, bounded by Colombia on the north, by Peru on the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean on the west. The country also includes the Galápagos Islands (Archipiélago de Colón) in the Pacific, about 965 kilometers (600 miles) west of the mainland. Named after the Spanish word for equator, Ecuador straddles the equator and has an area of 256,370 square kilometers (98,985 mi²). Its capital city is Quito.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    ecuador uses the american dollar for their currency.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.