promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsSwimming & Diving · 1 decade ago

Should I stop Swim Team?!?!?!?

I have a history of Cronic Sinusites and ear problems. I've had four surgeries all before I turned seven, and all on my ears and sinuses. I've been swimming since I was two years old and I love the sport and exell. The problem is that I get swimmer's ear, ear infections and sinutites about every 2-3 weeks. I swim four night a week and I take all the precautions including using swim ear drying aid, nose spray everyday, and wearing a nose clip every time we do flipturns in practice. But I can't seem to shake my history. If this keeps up, I'll have to stop swimming. But I really don't want to do that!!!! Any tips? Should I stop swimming? HHEELLPP!!??!!??!!??

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

yes

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Swimming is fun and all but it is not the only thing in your life. There will be other things just as important or moreso in your life after your swimming days are over... believe me. BUT what does it all matter if you don't have the health to enjoy what comes later? Speak with your physician and mention your concerns, please. Make an informed decision so that you don't regret something later.

Speak with a sport dietitian. You may running around with some vitamin deficiency or something. OR, you might need a special nose clip and/or special ear plugs; that's all. Don't lose hope yet. Speak with the coach and ask for help in finding better nose clips and better ear plugs. Listen, just as you're coming out of your flip turn, blow some air out of your nose if the clip falls out. You ARE supposed to breathe OUT through your nose anyway... RIGHT????

• 1 decade ago