promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

how many years do you have to have to become a lawyer and make your own firm?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Ryan D
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It takes a minimum of seven years of post-secondary education to become a lawyer in the US. Other countries, particularly England and Ireland, have a significantly shorter period of time.

After law school, anyone who wants to can go into business for themselves, but this is highly inadvisable, as you're likely to starve pretty quickly. The answer has less to do with a requirement and more to do with what you think you can handle.

I'm currently a law student at a respected school, and I don't know of anyone in my school either now or who graduated in the past two years that started their own firm right away. It usually takes a number of years after you finish law school to have the necessary experience and financial stabilty to make a go of it.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

You can start your own firm the day you get your license, and you can advertise and get customers, but there's one problem. They don't teach you squat in law school. I've been there. I spent three years at George Mason University School of Law and learned absolutely nothing from a bunch of tenured incompetents who couldn't teach a dinosaur to play dead. There are no real textbooks, only casebooks, which are just transcribed talk, not writing. Reading talk is a form of torture, and the people who do the talking are appellate court judges. Every last one of them is as dumb as a fencepost.

• 1 decade ago

you can pretty much start right after law school, but it doesn't necessarily mean people will flock to the firm- experience is a very big factor. so that makes it about 7 years or more.

• 4 years ago