promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Can you help me with ADHD child?

I have a ten year old daughter with ADHD and I am trying to get the school to allow her in content mastery, which is a smaller classroom she would go into to help her focus. So far, she is in the fifth grade, she is smart but struggles with the distractions around her. The school is giving me a hard time. Can someone please help me as I prepare to go through the ARD and IEP? She already has a 405 plan that really does not do anything. Any assistance would be great.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I am a teacher. Go into the meeting and be FIRM that you would like her tested PRONTO and that you are willing to hire a lawyer if they do not accomodate you. If you mention LAWYER to a school...they will jump through hoops for you. Next, when you do get your daughter into the environment that you feel is appropriate for her, then MONITOR it closely. Tell the school that you will be making visits regularly and that you are a concerned, caring parent that expects the school to produce results or they need to change the plan. Don't be bitchy, but be FIRM and let them know you are going to be coming into the classroom to observe and that you will be keeping a close eye on things. TRUST me, you WILL see results if you do this. If a school thinks you are a pushover parent, your child will fall through the cracks and the system. Best of luck to you.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

As soon as we knew our child had "issues", we moved to a district where they would be treated properly.

Before the IEP make it clear that you want what you mentioned above. In the IEP keep driving that home and make sure they have given you what you wanted. Do not hesitate to contact your state congressman, since schools get a lot of state money.

• 1 decade ago