holymoly! asked in SportsBaseball · 1 decade ago

When batting, is it legal for the batter to take a glance behind, to see where the catcher is setting up?

14 Answers

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Perfectly legal.

    But, as a previous answer indicated, any batter who does that and is seen by the catcher doing that would probably get the next pitch thrown at his head.

    Sometimes a late afternoon shadow will tell the hitter where the catcher is setting up. Tony Gwynn said that the late afternoon shadows at Wrigley Field helped him tell where the Cubs catcher was setting up and led to a key hit in the 1984 NLCS's deciding game.

    The late Hall of Famer Willie Stargell (Pirates) used to crank his bat around in a windmill fashion while waiting for a pitch to be deliverd. He always said it was just a habit, but in fact, he probably did this in order to disguise his head movements as he snuck a peek back to see where the catcher was setting up. The cranking of the bat was merely a distraction.

    Joe Morgan used to flap his elbow like a chicken wing as he waited for the pitch..again, this was probably done as a distraction so he could take a peek back at the catcher without anyone noticiing.

    Keith Hernandez would look at his hands on the bat just before a pitch was delivered (with the bat out in front of him, not back in a 'ready' position)...again, he wasn't looking at his hands, he was using his peripheral vision to see where the catcher was setting up.

    Tim McCarver said that, early in his career, he tried to sneak a look at the catcher's set-up, and the catcher caught him and said in a cute voice "peek-a-boo"... McCarver knew right then that he'd better not try that again.

    Catchers are trained to look out of hitters doing that.

    Some of today's players undoubtedly use the same type of tricks to sneak a peek at the catcher. But blatantly looking back is, although legal, a foolish thing to do.

  • 1 decade ago

    It's legal.... but frowned upon.

    Besides the catcher can change the sign once the batter turns his head again.

    Sometimes, a runner on second base may pick up the sign and relay it back to the batter....

    Again, if they found out, they get mad and whine about how the other team stole their signs. There's no rule against it and it's part of the game.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Yeah it's legal but why would they. That is what the Third Base coach is there for. He watches the signal from the catcher to the pitcher and then signals the batter based on that. Well either him or the first base coach proably will if you are watching from the other side of the plate.

  • 1 decade ago

    It is legal but dangerous as it is kind of an Unwritten rule that you don't.........at the major league level if you do this and the catcher senses it or catches you doing it....you are liable to find the next pitch be a fastball deposited in your earlobe...........it is perfectly ok to try if you have a lot of courage at the ML level.........at other levels....catchers may not be savvy enough to know how to combat it.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • John C
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    looks like it , i was just looking for verification on MLB.com official rules and only thing it states about the rules is that the legal batters postion is w / both feet in the batters box, nothing else is mentioned about turning of head or anything else!!!

    Source(s): MLB.com official rules,,,,Batter section
  • 1 decade ago

    He can peek but all he is going to wind up with is some chin music (one under the jaw).

  • 1 decade ago

    its legal all right, why do you think i made my little league all-star team

  • 1 decade ago

    it's illegal. at times the umpire will either give you a warning or he might call you out.

  • 1 decade ago

    yeah its sure legal all right!!!!!(but only do it if u want 2 get hit!!!!)

  • 1 decade ago

    no it not illegal...he may change it though.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.