i am thinking of tutoring children, how much should i charge per hour?

- i am thinking of tutoring preschool or gradeschool children

- i am a college student majoring in business in marketing.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I am a 2nd Grade teacher now. The first year I taught, I was a substitute, and a tutor. I went to a 3rd graders home once or twice a week for math tutoring. I charged $20 an hour. The parents willingly paid it. A few times, due to scheduling conflicts, we both just stayed afterschool and I tutored her in my classroom, that way mom came and picked her up, and I didn't have to make a trip out to her house and then back home since I lived in the opposite direction. The price was still $20. There were fewer distractions also, no dog, no tv in the other room, etc. I think $20 is reasonable and would be worth your time and the parents/students time. That is how much our school pays hired tutors an hour as well.

Be advised, if you aren't a teacher, don't work in a school, and don't have teaching credentials, parents are not going to be as willing to hire you, or as willing to pay as much as they would for a licensed teacher. They may want a background check also.

There isn't much tutoring that goes along with Preschool and kindergarten. Most parents won't hire tutors for young children like that. You will find the most market grades 2 and up, especially older elementary grades (4th-6th, junior high and high school...) because math is getting too hard for parents to help their kids, etc.

Good luck.

• ewing
    Lv 4
    4 years ago