How many time zones does the United States have?

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    There are actually 6, though there are 7 "times" currently in the US.

    Eastern, Central, Mountain, Pacific, Alaskan, and Hawaii-Aleutian. A good portion of Arizona and all of Hawaii does not observe DST, so the Aleutian Islands are in one time and Hawaii is actually an hour behind them.

    So it's currently 2:55 PM Eastern, 1:55 PM Central, 12:55 PM Mountain, 11:55 AM Pacific and Mountain Standard, 10:55 AM Alaska, 9:55 AM Aleutian, and 8:55 AM Hawaiian.

  • 1 decade ago

    well the definition of the United States is the Continental US, Puerto Rico, Guam and the Virgin Islands according to Imimigration so that would make it 8 times zones, as the V.I. and P.R. I believe are the same time zone,and Guam another.. I believe this time of year PR is called Romeo time, then EST quebec,CST: Papa, MST: Oscar, PST: November, Alaska: Mike, and Hawaii: Lima, but I do not know what Guam is.

    Source(s): 2 years at sea..time was all reference to Zulu time or Greenwich Mean Time, I am a little rusty as it has ben 7 years since I have had to use it
  • 1 decade ago

    The U.S. has 6 time zones

    Eastern, Central, Pacific, Mountain, Hawaii, and Alaska

    These last 2 states have their own time zones.

    Try worldatlas.com to see exactly what states are in what time zone. Hope this helps.

    Source(s): worldatlas.com
  • 1 decade ago

    The 50 states are covered by six time zones, however including Territories and Possessions there are twelve time zones for the US:

    Atlantic - Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

    Eastern

    Central

    Mountain

    West

    Alaska

    Hawaii-Aleutian Islands

    Samoa (American Somoa & Midway Islands)

    Kwajalein Islands

    Marshall Islands (and Wake Island)

    Micronesia (Caroline Islands)

    Chamorro (Guam and North Marianas Islands)

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    Eastern

    Central

    Mountain

    Pacific

    Alaskan

    Hawaii-Aluetion

    equals 6

  • ?
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

    4 - Eastern, Central, Mountain and Pacific time zones.

  • 1 decade ago

    6

    Eastern

    Central

    Mountain

    Pacific

    Alaska is in another and Hawaii is after that. Not sure what those two time zones are called. Just know that they are 1 hour apart.

  • 1 decade ago

    5 if you count Hawaii. 4 on the mainland, plus Hawaii

  • 1 decade ago

    Eastern

    Central

    Mountain

    Pacific

  • 1 decade ago

    Several

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.