Lv 4
2BaD4u asked in Games & RecreationBoard Games · 1 decade ago

In Chess,can anyone explain En Passant?

6 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    En passant

    French for "while passing," a move in which a pawn captures another pawn. You capture an opposing pawn en passant when it moves forward 2 spaces in a single move and your pawn could have captured it if your opponent's pawn had moved only 1 space.

  • ZCT
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

    Hard to explain, better to see the link with pictures!

    From the source:

    En passant (from French: "while [the pawn is] passing") is a maneuver in the board game of chess. The en passant rule applies when a player moves a pawn two squares forward from its starting position, and an opposing pawn could have captured it if it had only moved one square forward. The rule states that the opposing pawn may then capture the pawn as if it had only moved one square forward. The resulting position is the same as if the pawn had only moved one square forward and then the opposing pawn had captured as normal. En passant must be done on the very next turn, or the right to do so is lost. The move is unusual in that it is the only occasion in chess in which a piece captures but does not move to the square of the captured piece. In chess notation, en passant captures are sometimes denoted by "e.p." or similar, but that isn't required.

  • 1 decade ago

    En Passant comes from french language meaning passing.

    In Chess, when a pawn (say for instance white's) reaches the 5th rank, (say to b5) it gets the potential to capture any other pawn in the files adjacent to it (i.e., a-file and c-file here) that moves two steps from it's initial position (from say c7 to c5 or a7 to a5). However, the capture is made by pulling the opponent's pawn (black's, in this case) down to the 6th rank (to c6 or a6) and then kill it. Thus your pawn moves from the 5th rank to the 6th rank as if the pawn you killed never moved to the fifth rank, it just offered itself to you in the 6th rank.

    There is however, a condition that is, you must (and can only) take the pawn that moved 2 steps forward in the next move you have to make otherwise you cannot take it.

    For instance consider, the game:

    1. e4 c5; 2. e5 d5; (here u can take the pawn, and the notation is as follows) 3. exd6 (e.p.) ....

  • 1 decade ago

    Used in reference to a move in chess in which a pawn that has just completed an initial advance to its fourth rank is captured by an opponent pawn as if it had only moved to its third rank.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    When moving two squares if pawn passes opponents pawn, during the next move opponent can take the passed pawn and put his pawn one square lower than the taken pawn was positioned. (e.g. Starting Position: Black Pawn at D4, White Pawn at E2; White moves: e2-e4 passing the black pawn at d4. Next move black: d4xe3 - takes white pawn at e4, but is positioned at e3 not at e4! This rule is valid only immediately as the next move, cannot be used 2 moves later or so.

  • 1 decade ago

    en passant is when your opponent moves his or her pawn 2 squares and you happen to be beside them when they arrive at that square...you can take their pawn and you would move diagonally forward one square behind the square they arrived at...you would then capture their pawn (enpassant)

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.