AP US History Summer Reading question?

I have to analyze this :(

The United States was a creation of a group of founding fathers who followed a process by which the landed gentry(or aristocracy at the time) made decisions by class, race gender in an effort to maintain power in the new republic

can anyone translate that into a more understandable statement?

Update:

oops i missed a word

The United States was a creation of a group of founding fathers who followed a process by which the landed gentry(or aristocracy at the time) made decisions MOTIVATED by class, race gender in an effort to maintain power in the new republic

but you prolly understood the point anyway

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Okay here is my attempt - First I will say I am a white 25 yr old male - so when i speak there may be a little bit of bias - I am a law school graduate and hold a BS in Biochem & Cell Bio - I also took AP US History in High School

ANSWER

Well this statement seems quite biased at the outset - because it assumes that the founding fathers - whom were white and some slave owners broke with tradition or the commonplace conditions of the age. Unlike today - the founders lived in a time when society was heavily paternalistic (male protecting everyone) so becuase of this the government of the US was based on such a belief.

BLUNT STATEMENT - Rich White Males determined that it is in the best interest of Rich White Males and Everyone else that Rich White Males should be in control

More Appropriate answer - Look to issues within critical race theory and furthermore examples of the great compromises of the constitution - We have the agreement on slavery - the 3/5 compromise - the creation of a bicameral legislature -- other issues as well

But I would suggest that any group that seeks power under the guise of equality still maintains a desire to dominate some other group.

FINALLY