Laura asked in PetsDogs · 1 decade ago

When my dog gets excited, he pees all over the place. Does anyone know why this is, and how to stop it?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It is called submissive urination. It is the dogs way of letting you know he is happy to see you and that he poses no threat. They usually will roll over and expose their belly at the same time.

Source(s): I am a Vet Tech
  • Your dog is a submisive pee-er. Your dog is showing you that he means no harm by peeing infront of you. A submisive dog in the wild, when approched by the pack leader and feels threatened, will turn over onto their side or back to expose their belly. They will also release urine. This is done to act as small and weak as possible to the leader to signal that they mean no harm and are not questioning the leader. The turning over is to become smaller, this is usually accompanied by small whimpers and urine. This is what an adult dog will do to seem small and insignificant just like a puppy. Because a puppy usually has a hard time controlling their bladder the urine release is used to show the leader: "Look I am small and I can't hold my bladder, just like a pup, so please don't hurt me." The peeing done by your dog is a compliment. To stop the peeing, ignore your dog when you come home or enter a room when your dog gets excited. Do not look or talk to your dog until they calm down. Once he is calm you can call him over to you. Just remember not to get him too excited. If he looks like he is going to pee again, walk away and ignore him until he calms down again.

For more info: thepetproject@zoomshare.com

Source(s): http://www.thepetproject.zoomshare.com/ Professional Dog Trainer and Behaviorist
  • 1 decade ago