Anonymous asked in 藝術與人文詩詞與文學 · 2 decades ago



1 Answer

  • Anonymous
    2 decades ago
    Favorite Answer

    Aeschylus' Oresteia is composed of three parts, Agamemnon, The Libation Bearers, and The Eumenides. In the Oresteia—the only trilogy in Greek drama which survives from antiquity— Aeschylus took as his subject the bloody chain of murder and revenge within the royal family of Argos. Moving from darkness to light, from rage to self-governance, from primitive ritual to civilized institution, it's spirit of struggle and regeneration is eternal.

    Aeschylus set his great trilogy in the immediate aftermath of the Fall of Troy, when King Agamemnon returns to Argos, a victor in war. Agamemnon depicts the hero’s discovery that his family has been destroyed by his wife’s infidelity and ends with his death at her callous hand. Clytemnestra’s crime is repaid in The Choephori when her outraged son Orestes kills both her and her lover. The Eumenides then follows Orestes as he is hounded to Athens by the Furies’ law of vengeance and depicts Athene replacing the bloody cycle of revenge with a system of civil justice. Written in the years after the Battle of Marathon, The Oresteian Trilogy affirmed the deliverance of democratic Athens not only from Persian conquest, but also from its own barbaric past.


    'Conveys more vividly and powerfully than any of the ten competitors I have consulted the eternal power of this masterpiece . . . a triumph' - Bernard Levin

    'How satisfying to read at last a modern translation which is rooted in Greek feeling and Greek thought, and is not intimidated by grandeur. Here both the stature and the profound instinctive genius of Aeschylus are recognized' - Mary Renault

    'The most exciting translation of this generation' - Charles Beye, Parnassus

    2005-11-30 23:20:07 補充:


Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.