Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Pregnancy & ParentingToddler & Preschooler · 1 decade ago

thumb sucking?

i have a 4yr old daughter and she wont stop sucking her thumb. when she was little she had a dummy and at 2 1/2 we told her she was to old for it and took it away. her older cousin sucks her thumb so she thought it was ok to do that as well and she is still doing it. how can i make her stop?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

I went through this with my two girls. The guy that answered you with the dental appliance was an option that the dentist suggested. It was expensive, and it was not covered on our medical, so we did not do it. As a psychology student I dont like the negative reinforcement. Studies show that punishment is less effective to alter human behavior. Believe me I sympathize with you, wanting the behavior to change ASAP. Try postive reinforcement with your daughter. Talk to her about your concerns when it comes to thumb sucking, at a time that it is not an issue....a neutral time. Try to include her in a plan to stop thumb sucking. 4 yr. olds are smart! When she is "caught" sucking her thumb, just reminder her....."sweety, I see that you are sucking your thumb, remember our little talk?" Try touching her when you remind her and get down on her level when you talk to her. Talk to her about same and different. For example: babies are different from you, they are small and you are big. Babies get thier food from a bottle or thier mommy and you are a big girl you sit and eat at the table all by yourself. It is exhausting believe me. There is a little something Dr. James Dobson said that I remembered, "on average a child does not hear us until we repeat something 5 times". Hang in there, it sounds like you are a good mom.

Source(s): focus on the family, Dr. James Dobson Mother of three Develpmental Pscyhology student
  • 1 decade ago