Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationMotorcycles · 1 decade ago

What is a good beginner's motorcycle?

I don't even have a license yet. Taking a class this summer. What would be a good, decently priced, not crotchrocket but more cruiser type bike to get? What would you recommend to a beginner?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm in the same spot as you, so let me tell you my experience. I'm just learning (currently 3 lessons courtesy of my husband who owns a Honda Interceptor), and I'm signed up for a Motorcycle Saftey Course at the end of May. I have my learners permit, but have never ridden before.

I first bought a Honda Shadow VLX600 about 3 weeks ago because it was gorgeous and looked like the HD Sportster for half the price. The Honda Shadow is a cruiser, and for me @ 5'4", 140 lbs, found it to be really top heavy. It was harder for a beginner like me to maneuver around tight corners - especially taking off out of them like in parking lots. I came to a quick stop during my 3rd practice, and tipped over because the front end flopped left, and rolled out from under me. I of course jumped back up and got right back on, but it taught me a most valueable lesson - never buy a bike by it's looks only. Sit on it, tip it, roll it, ride the parking lot, but buy a bike that fits you. You'll be a lot safer.

I promptly took the bike back and bought a Buell Blast instead. It's not a crotch rocket for sure, but the front wheel rake isn't as steep as a cruiser. The handle bar length is somewhere between a cruiser and a crotch rocket and is a very comfortable reach for me. It's 100 lbs lighter than the Honda, and the front end is very stable. I can take corners with no problem. It's also the bike they use for several training classes in my area. The clutch isn't as forgiving as the Honda, but I'll get used to it as I would any other. Only downside for me so far is that it rattles quite a bit on idle.