Help! I'm allergic to so many things!?

I am allergic to at least somethingn every season and am constantly stuffed up and get sore throats. Most of the medicines either don't help or make me sick in some way (Allegra made me have cramps so bad I couldn't hardly walk, for example). I don't really need complete relief, but the sore throats really hinder me. Does anybody know of anything that can help a sore throat except lots of throat drops?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

First, I'm not a doctor but I do have severe, year-round respiratory allergies as do both of my children.

If Allegra isn't working, talk with your doctor about alternatives: Zyrtec, Clarinex or even some of the older RX drugs. Or, try the over the counter loratidine.

Since your symptoms are mostly nasal, you might also do well with an inhaled steroid.

If you wish to avoid meds altogether, try hot teas to sooth the throat, vitamin C drops (with echinacea if you can tolerate it), and use a cool mist humidifier at night. Also switch your AC filters to a type that helps with pollen/molds, cover your bed/pillows with plastic, remove carpets if possible, shower and change clothes when you come in for the day (your bring pollens inside with you).

Best of luck!

• 1 decade ago

i find that if i take a deconjestant before i goto bed it helps with the sore throat. but i get a sore throat because my head drains downmy throat during the night and Im still stuffed up so i breath through my mouth. maybe give that a try

• 1 decade ago

Allergies

Author: Connie Cornell 09/22/03