What does "kunoichi" mean? Female Japanese ninja, written in kanji and hiragana.?

What does kunoichi mean? Japanese for female ninja, it's written with hiragana 'ku no' and kanji 'ichi' (one). I've heard a bunch of different theories, but I can't find anything concrete.

I'm a Japanese language student, so the following might be a bit redundant or boring: One possibility is that the "ku" is for 9 (written usually in kanji as "ku" or "kyu"), and it's a particle "no", suggesting posession or nominalization. "9 of 1" or something, suggesting hiding places that a female ninja may have (or so I heard).

So, what does this name name really mean or imply? Any historical information would also be good. Thanks!

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm looking on a Japanese dictionary right now.

Kunoichi is written as " く ノ一”.

There is a space between くandノ.

くis a Hiragana pronounced KU.

ノ is a Katakana pronounced NO.

一 is a kanji pronounced ICHI and it means 1.

Kunoichi has 2 meanings; female, and female ninja.

Do you know a kanji which means female?

It's 女---pronounced ONNA. Take a look at 女 carefully.

If you break down this kanji, it becomes...く, ノ and 一!!

Good luck on your Japanese studies!! Ganbatte :)

Source(s): My Japanese dictionary, KOHJIEN--広辞苑
    • Login to reply the answers
  • duca
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

Ninja Kanji

• bungay
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

Japanese Symbol For Ninja

• Anonymous
    5 years ago

This Site Might Help You.

RE:

What does "kunoichi" mean? Female Japanese ninja, written in kanji and hiragana.?

What does kunoichi mean? Japanese for female ninja, it's written with hiragana 'ku no' and kanji 'ichi' (one). I've heard a bunch of different theories, but I can't find anything concrete.

I'm a Japanese language student, so the following might be a bit redundant...

Source(s): quot kunoichi quot female japanese ninja written kanji hiragana: https://tr.im/zBpLs