promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

What do web designers do?

I know they design web pages but i wanna know more about the process...what kind of education do you have to have in order to be a web designer? etc. etc.

Any information you have would be helpful...thanks :)

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I disagree with the other post about needing a 4 year degree. I am 100% self taught in the arts of web design and development, having done it for the past 12 years both on my own, and for the last 2 years as a contractor for large corporations like Johnson & Johnson. Prior to my life as a web designer, I came from the traditional print media, marketing and design world, (which I still do) having worked for numerous agencies throughout central and south Florida since 1991. Granted, it's not the 'norm', but self taught web designers/developers are more prevalent than some think.

But to answer your question, the designers role can vary based on the position. Some designers do only the design, and then deliver a "flat" that is then taken by a developer and made into a working web page. Other designers, like myself, are able to take the design from a concept on a napkin to a working prototype to actually programming the html code and corresponding CSS. (HTML and CSS are the core of any website - that is unless it's 100% Flash animation)