Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetInternetOther - Internet · 8 years ago

What is Website Hosting?

I'm completely new to how websites and their specifics work. I want to know about website hosting because I just bought a domain name. I looked for some website designers online and they proposed to host and maintain the site for me. Can someone please explain how it works, does it mean they take control of the site for me and I can no longer do anything? Thanks for any help!!

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hosting your website means that they'll put all the files and whatnot of your site onto their server ( a computer running 24/7) where it will be accessible on the internet. They should give you a username and password so that you can access your website from any pc connected to the internet and make any changes. If you're getting someone to design you a website they should be able to give you more details about how you can make changes to the site depending on how it's been built. I run a small business and this company (http://itaideurope.com/) made me a site where i could update a blog and make changes to the content of it's pages. Hope that helps.

• Anonymous
    8 years ago

Web hosting simply means making a website available on the world wide web such that people are able to view the content you have on your website.

A web site can be developed on any computer including your personal computer if you install and configure the right software. However, that will not make your website available via the internet. Therefore, to make it available via the internet, the files that make up your website must be uploaded or copied to a special type of computer called a web server. Once this is done, your website will be available via the internet. Now, that is what is called web hosting.