promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

How to start web design?

Hello, yesterday I started learning my first programming language, python. I know it's early to say, but for now it seems easy and fun to learn. Then, idea of web design came across my mind, so I wonder what skills do I need to start it? Is it ok to use Python in this purpose, do I need to have nice photoshops skills? I am starting from zero, and I would like to know how much time will past before I am able to make decent web site. I am ready to learn these things in my free time, which is around 2hrs a day. And, how much many could I get from making one website? I would also consider programming. Any help is welcome.

Update:

Forgot to ask about difference between web design and development..

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The difference between web design and web development in my opinon would be. Web development is more towards the programming side of things like Python. But most people uses Javascript and PHP. This is what I would recommend you learning for creating dynamic websites. Javascript for the client side and PHP for the server side. Python isn't used as much but you can definitely use Python if you want to. You might need some good photoshop skills if you want to make icons and stuff. But those are mainly for web designers. Web developers should be focusing more on the programming aspects of the site.

Web design would be just designing the looks of the website, so you would just need to mainly learn some CSS and a bit of Javascript to do the JQuery stuff (like animations). You'll also need to learn HTML which is relatively easy (and it's not considered a programming language)

You can do most of these with just a simple text editor (which in my opinion, is more enjoyable than using something like Dreamweaver). One that I recommend is Notepad++. To learn writing the codes you can use a website like w3schools, which really helps a lot.