I Need web design tips?

I am looking for a software that is easy to use but can do alot, i have a friend who uses the old microsoft front page and that just seems difficult. Any ideas on good software? It also has to be mac compatible, and i would like to be able to publish sites to hostgator.com and webs.com. Thank you

Update:

If this helps: I'm looking to get into web design but know zero in "coding" i didn't know if there was a program sort of like a lot of the online building programs except i wanted to be able to design offline.

In short maybe a program with a drag and drop interface... I want to be able to add pictures and videos to my site. thanks for the help

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm a Mac user and professional web designer and programmer. When designing a new website, my workflow often begins with Adobe Photoshop where I create the look and feel of the design. I create the buttons and tabs for navigation, place the logo and other graphics, and then use the slice tool to cut it up into the pieces.

Next, I move over to Adobe DreamWeaver where I build the layout with HTML and CSS. The slices from PhotoShop can be incorporated using DreamWeaver's image and CSS tools. I use DreamWeaver's split view to see the code view and the preview at the same time. I find it is often faster to make edits in the actual code rather than use the WYSIWYG tools. Seeing the preview at the same time is very handy. Additionally, DreamWeaver is what I use to upload the site files to the server.

Once the layout is done I do most of the other work such as JavaScripting, PHP coding and tweaks to the HTML and CSS using BBEdit. BBEdit is an excellent text editor specifically designed for working with all of the common web development languages. Syntax coloring lets you see and catch errors immediately. BBEdit is my preference for editing code, but DreamWeaver can do it too.