Wireless Router and Cable Modem?

Hello,

I'm having issues trying to find out what kind of Connection I have with a Wireless Router and Cable Modem.

I've explained to other people about it and they said I have a router.

I did the "Start" . "Run" type cmd thing and it says Im using a Modem.

But I want to know if its Direct Modem or Cable.

Maybe I'm wrong, the connection could be router.

Sorry, Im new to the connection stuff =/

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

you're technically on a LAN (local area network) with that type of setup. Sounds like to me your in the wrong connection settings. Your computer doesn't have to technically know where the internet comes from, but through what device on your PC it is coming from.

• 1 decade ago

Ok. Here's how it works:

1. You have a box given to you from your internet service provider. That box can either be a:

a. modem (connecting your house to your ISP's network)

or a

b. modem/router (connecting your house to your ISP's network as well as being able to connect your computers to it).

2. Your service provider should have told you which one you have. Fortunately, you can kind of figure out what it is by simply looking at it.

a. If the box has a bunch of RJ-45 connectors in the back (plugs that look like oversized phone plugs), it's a router.

b1. If it only has 1 Coax plug (plug that looks like the plug on the back of your TV that the cable company plugs their cable into)

or an

b2. RJ-11 (plug that looks like a normal phone plug) as well as 1 RJ-45 plug (plug that looks like an oversized phone plug), you have a modem.

2. Once you determin what device your service provider gave you, you can answer the question as to what kind of connection you have.