should i buy this car?

it's a 2005 toyota rav4. 66,000 miles (a little bit over the 12,000miles/year mark, but i think that's okay)

i took it for a test drive for about 10 minutes and it seemed fine. i'm a new driver and i felt very safe and comfortable. i like the fact that it's higher than a car, yet still easy to park.

they're asking $14,500, but will go down to $13,500. that price includes all new tires, an oil change, and new brakes.

thanks for your help :)

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

In part the price depends where you are located.

In more rural areas, you may have to pay $1,500 to $4,000 more than in a metropolitan area for the same vehicle, as used Toyotas on non-metropolitan dealer lots disappear quickly, as Toyota's reputation for quality has become quite pervasive. By this standard, the 2005 Toyota RAV4 at $13,500 may be rather a steal, provided that it has been properly maintained.

The 66,000 miles is inconsequential (assuming proper maintainance and no abuse); Toyota vehicles are known for both reliability and durability.

The 2010 Auto Reliability GPA of the 4-cylinder Toyota RAV4 is 3.88 over a 10-year data history. In other words, in a letter grade, the 4-cylinder RAV4's reliability earns an A, for infrequency of reported serious problems.

For comparison, here are overall 2010 Auto Reliability GPAs for several brands, in descending order:

Honda: 3.67 (an A)

Toyota: 3.53 (a low A)

Acura: 3.38 (a B)

Subaru: 2.61 (a low B)

Hyundai: 2.54 (a low B)

Mazda: 2.28 (a C)

Ford: 2.17 (a C)

Volkswagen: 1.58 (a low C)

Chevrolet: 1.37 (a D)

Chrysler: 1.04 (a D)

Dodge: 0.97 (a D).

If you are satisfied with the condition of the vehicle, I would pay the $13,500.

• 10 years ago