promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsEngineering · 10 years ago

I'm having a problem understanding transistors...?

Hello, I'm pretty new to electronics and I have a problem understand how a bipolar transistor (PNP or NPN) works. Every transistor has three legs that connect to the different layers of the transistor. We are supposed to connect the two outer layers of the transistor to the circuit. If electricity passes through the middler layer (the base) then the circuit will work, right?

Now, I have a few questions:

1) How do we pass electricity to the middle layer (the base) if it only has one wire that connects to it? You can't create a closed circuit like that. Please explain.

2) I also read that you can use a transistor as an amplifier, how does that work?

Thanks ahead.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hey there!

As far as your first question (in the paragraph), the answer is YES.

Before I answer some of your questions I would just like to make sure you know some of the terms.

Collector: The pin that current flows into.

Emitter: The pin that current flows out of.

Base: The pin that controls the flow from Collector to Emitter.

I'll explain a couple of things about the different transistors. NPN transistors are normally CLOSED. That is, if nothing is flowing into the BASE, then the transistor is not allowing any current to flow from the COLLECTOR to the EMITTER. But when current is allowed to flow into the base on an NPN, then current will be allowed to flow from COLLECTOR to EMITTER.. PNP transistors are the opposite (normally OPEN). They will allow current to pass from the COLLECTOR to the EMITTER, until you apply current to the BASE (then it turns off).

1. The way you are able to pass current through the BASE is because the current actually goes into the BASE then out the EMITTER. The EMITTER is the ground for both the BASE and the COLLECTOR.