Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

?
Lv 6
? asked in Society & CultureHolidaysRamadan · 1 decade ago

are skittles and starburst haram?

I had emailed both companies and this is what they have sent back.

In response to your email regarding SKITTLES BITE SIZE CANDIES.

Thanks for your email.

The gelatin used in our SKITTLES BITE SIZE CANDIES and STARBURST is derived from

beef.

We hope this information is helpful.

Have a great day!

Your Friends at Mars Snackfood US

I hope that this helps clear them from your haram list so since the gelatin in these products we can eat them right?

Update:

@mee the only one in the world re read the question I posted that it is from beef.

I'm asking since its beef gelatin we can still eat it

Update 2:

@محمد please read the question Im telling you guys it is beef Gelatin thats in the product!!!

Update 3:

I'm giving you guys the info letting you know that the gelatin in starburst and skittles are not pork the gelatin is Beef this is what the candy company sent me!

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Well, this a fiqh issue and there is a difference of opinion.

    but like i said before, everything is halal unless there is proof to show that it is haram

    Here is what the scholars say:

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

    As-salaamu `alaykum wa-rahmat ullaah.

    Some ingredients, such as fat and gelatin, are used in substantial amounts. Others, such as cheese renet, are used in minute amounts. In most cases, the list of ingredients gives the percentages of ingredients (or no percentages if they are used in minute quantity). If you are in doubt, check with the manufacturer or on the Internet.

    But as for gelatin, we previously made a research with the help of some chemist brothers, and we checked with some manufacturers, and found that it is completely unrelated to the original substance from which it was derived. Attached is the letter from the Jell-o company.

    Wallaahu a`lam (Allaah knows best).

    Abu `Abdillaah Muhammad al-Jibaly

    Al-Madeenah al-Munawwarah

    --------------------------------------

    As'Salâm Alaikum Wa'Rahmatullâhi Wa'Barakâtuh

    Concerning Gelatin And Vinegar: The Istihâlah Principle

    Source: (Taken entirely from a dars given by Shaikh Muhammad Bâzmûl, translated by Moosaa Richardson and a fatwa given by Shaikh al-Albânî, with a few factual additions)

    Originally Posted At: http://salafitalk.net/st/viewmessages.cfm?Forum=10...

    Taken From: http://salafi.homepage.dk/fiqh/gelatin.html

    Istihâlah is when something becomes pure. It was najis (impure) but it is now taahir (pure). A good example would be maitah (animal carcass): it is najis, but should it be burned and become ashes, or decompose and become earth, then it is taahir, it is no longer najis. This can happen with dung or feces or whatever. Whenever something changes from one property to another, then the ruling likewise changes.

    Example: Let us say that someone uses the fat of a dead animal to make soap. That fat is najis, but the chemical change that it was put through makes it taahir.

    Ibn Hazm put it concisely when he said,

    "Ruling upon an object is upon what it is named (what it is), if the name (what it is) changes then so does the ruling."

    He also mentioned in his book of fiqh, Al-MuhAllâh: "If the quality of the substance of naturally impure objects changes the name which was given to it so that it is no more applicable to it and it is given a new name which is given to a pure object, so it is no more an impure thing. It becomes a new object, with a new rule."

    Meaning that if the natural composition of a substance changes to another substance of a different composition, so much so that you can no longer call the new substance by the name of what it was-- ruling upon that substance changes too.

    Proof/Example 1:

    The companions (radyAllâhu anhum) used to eat a cheese that came from the land of the disbelievers. In that cheese was a part of the calf which was slaughtered by the disbelievers in a way that is not in accordance with Islaam. The companions knew this, but they also knew that the prohibition was upon the calf, what is directly from the calf, and what could be properly called part of the calf; the ruling is not upon that which you cannot identify as part of the calf nor is it called any longer such-and-such part of the calf. This is called istihâlah.

    Proof/Example 2:

    Another proof from the Sunnah: The Prophet (sallAllâhu 'alayhi wa sallam) forbade making vinegar out of wine, but he said that if you should come across vinegar that has been made from wine then it is halaal.

    Why?

    The ruling is upon what the object is, and not what it was. Wine is haraam; vinegar is not, and before the wine became an intoxicant, it was halaal. Why? Because it was fruit before that.

    Proof/Example 3:

    Allâh says in the Qur'an:

    "And surely there is a lesson for you in the cattle we give you to drink of what is in their bellies from between the feces and blood, pure milk, wholesome to those who drink it." (16:66)

    Allâh is putting forth an example for us of how something pure can come from something impure.

    And we can also use as proof something that we've already gone over. The Prophet (sallAllâhu 'alayhi wa sallam) said that when the hide of maitah (the carrion) is tanned, then it is taahir. He (sallAllâhu 'alayhi wa sallam) gave us a method to purify something which was first impure.

    Let us examine things we are familiar with: mono and diglycerides, whey, gluten, emulsifiers, gelatin, and whatever else is on the international harâm list. These by-products sometimes come from animals, pigs even, in which case the ruling on the initial substances is that they are haraam. But the initial substances (e.g. fat, marrow, cartilage, etc.) are put through chemical change so that you no longer can even call it "pig fat" or "animal bone" or "skin" or "cartilage", etc. because it is no longer that, hence it is tâhir, it is halâl.

    What is gelatin? As Oxford dictionary of science defines: "A colorless or pale yellow, water-soluble protein obtained by boiling collagen with water and evaporating the solution. It melts when water is added and dissolves in hot water to form a solution that sets to a gel on cooling." (page 290)

    Is this a chemical change or is this not a chemical change? Is it protein any longer? No, it is not.

    You are in disbelief so you ask, "But how can it be halâl when it came from something harâm?"

    Because of the proofs mentioned above, the ruling is not based upon what it was, the ruling is based upon what it is. A Hanafi scholar, Ibn Abedin gave the example: "the swine which drowns in a salt lake and decomposes and becomes salt itself, is now halaal."

    And other Hanafi scholars go on to say: "salt is different from meat and bones. If they become salt, they are salt."

    To take the salt example further: salt consists of sodium chloride (NaCl) when together they are the halaal food known as salt, when separated they make up two poisonous substances which are then haraam for consumption.

    The ahnâf (Hanafis) also use as an example the human semen, saying that it is najis, then when it inseminates the egg and becomes a blood clot it is still najis, but when it becomes flesh it is no longer najis. And the ahnaaf are not the only ones who take this position.

    The examples are numerous and they extend beyond food: Yesterday a man was kâfir and going towards Hell, today he is Muslim, so what is the ruling upon him? It is based upon what he is today.

    We must be careful when we call things haraam because it is a form of dhulm (oppression). Scholars have said that it is worse that you make something halaal to haraam rather than making something haraam to halaal. This deen Allâh has made yusr (easy) let us not make it 'usr (hard). WAllâhu 'Alim.

    Wa' Jazâkum Allâhu Khairan

    Wa Billâhi-t-Tawfîq

    Akhûkum Fillâh,

    Abû Anas

    Tameem Ibn Jørn Helmer Jørgensen, Ad-Danimârkî

    [Bakkah] DALnet / Undernet

  • ?
    Lv 4
    5 years ago

    For the best answers, search on this site https://shorturl.im/axx2g

    Unfortuantely, it is still haram. You don't know for sure if it's pork gelatin or beef gelatin, and they don't even specify in the ingredient list. On top of that, sometimes they use a combination of different animals, including horses. Even if it wasn't pork gelatin, it's sure a fact that the cow was not slaughtered according to islamic law to be used for the candy. So, just refrain yourself from eating it. Also, I would advise you to check any type of candy before consuming it.

  • 6 years ago

    This Site Might Help You.

    RE:

    are skittles and starburst haram?

    I had emailed both companies and this is what they have sent back.

    In response to your email regarding SKITTLES BITE SIZE CANDIES.

    Thanks for your email.

    The gelatin used in our SKITTLES BITE SIZE CANDIES and STARBURST is derived from

    beef.

    We hope this information is helpful.

    Have...

    Source(s): skittles starburst haram: https://tinyurl.im/6Zgxz
  • It's haram

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    In the UK, skittles are haram but starburst are ok.

    @ linkin ~ skittles are haram

  • pink
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

    We can only eat animal products from animals that have been Islamically slaughtered.

    Supermarket Meat is Not Halal - A comprehensive fatwa on a very common and serious question.

    http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=249...

    Meat in the West

    http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=438...

    All conditions of slaughtering must be met in order for the animal to be rendered lawful

    http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=356...

    Slaughtering the Animal

    http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=448...

    Supermarket Zabiha?

    http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=7&ID=450...

    RE: Supermarket Meat. Doesn't Imam Yusuf Qaradawi say it is 100% fine?

    http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=445...

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    i guess not its getting really anoying cuze all the good things start to be proven to be haram, but its still worth not eating them because i myself cant disobay allah

  • 1 decade ago

    in the UK they are halal. not sure about other countries

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Thanks sis!

    Yesterday, I sent them an email too. They haven't replied me yet!

    But anyway, thanks for sharing=)

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    no because they are "is derived from

    beef."

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.